NYSNLA awards its highest honor, the George L. Good Gold Medal of Horticulture, to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to horticulture in the state of New York.

Dr. George Lawrence Good spent his entire career on the Department of Horticulture faculty at Cornell University’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. He was an active, engaged member of NYSNLA and received the Gold Medal of Horticulture himself in 1997. After his death in 2008, the award was rechristened the George L. Good Gold Medal of Horticulture in his honor.


Dr. Gary BrownGary A. Brown, Ph.D. is the 2018 George L. Good Gold Medal of Horticulture winner. "Doc" Brown, as he is known, is retired from Farmingdale State College on Long Island, where he was a professor of biology and ornamental horticulture.

In his 40-plus years on the Farmingdale faculty, Doc Brown helped to shape the careers of generations of green industry professionals who still treasure the impact he had on them as students. These include Donna Moramarco, CNLP, who nominated him for the Gold Medal, and Vinnie Drzewucki, Senior CNLP, who presented the award on Donna's behalf.

Doc Brown is "one of Farmingdale State College’s own, receiving an AAS in biological technology. He went on to receive a BS, MS and PhD in entomology at the University of Georgia, returning to Farmingdale to teach," Donna wrote. At the time he graduated, Farmingdale did not offer bachelor's degrees, Now, "thanks in part to his efforts, students can earn a bachelor’s degree in horticultural technology management."

In addition to serving as a professor in two departments, Doc Brown was co-advisor to the Farmingdale Horticulture Club for 25 years. This club provides students with opportunities to learn management skills as well as compete in their field at a national level.

Doc Brown served as assistant to the chair of the Department of Biology in the 1970s and as assistant to the dean of the School of Health Sciences in the 1980s. He chaired the Department of Ornamental from 2000 until 2009 and was instrumental in developing a program in Integrated Pest Management.

In 1998, he received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

As a former student, I can attest to the unwavering dedication Gary has had for his many students and the industry over many decades," Donna wrote. 

Click here for a list of criteria for this award and directions for submitting a nomination.


Past Honorees

1982 - Dr. P.P. Pirone

1983 - Edwin Costich

1984 - Frank Karpick

1985 - Gordon Jones

1986 - Dr. Arthur Bing

1987 - Joseph Harris

1988 - Ralph Snodsmith

1989 - Dr. Carl Gortzig

1990 - Carl Totemeier

1991 - Ronald O. Barrett

1992 - Beatrice Jones

1993 - Warren T. Johnson

1994 - William "Bill" Head

1995 - James Cross

1996 - Ernie Schaufler

1997 - Dr. George Good

1998 - Henry Weller

1999 - John Hyde, W. Scott Clark

2000 - Dr. Wayne Sinclair

2001 - Ralph N. Freeman, Alfred "Fred" H. Hicks

2002 - George V. Schichtel

2003 - Richard Weir

2004 - Dr. Nina Bassuk

2005 - Carolyn Klass

2006 - Charles Scheer

2007 - Margery Daughtrey

2008 - Robert Mungari

2009 - Dr. Donald Leopold

2010 - Dr. George W. Hudler

2011 - Jan Jansen, Lifetime CNLP

2012 - Paul Fuhrmann

2013 - Edward Dore, Senior Lifetime CNLP

2014 - Steven Perry

2015 - Dr. Andrew Senesac

2016 - Dr. A. Martin Petrovic

2017 - Charles D. Schmitt, CNLP