NYSNLA Hall of Fame inductees are individuals who have made outstanding and unselfish contributions to the nursery industry in the state of New York.


Jim PresuttiJim Presutti, Lifetime CNLP is the 2018 NYSNLA Hall of Fame inductee. Jim has been active in NYSNLA for many years. He is a past president of the state association and currently serves on the board of the New York State Nurserymen's Foundation. He has been a CNLP since 1987 and a Lifetime CNLP since 2014. Jim is also a Certified Arborist.

Since 2000, Jim has been the owner of Hudson Valley Horticultural Services in Newburgh, NY. He began his career in the green industry after earning his forestry degree from Paul Smith's College in 1981. He has done landscaping, pest control, timber marking, forestry mapping, and lawn care, but in more recent years, he has returned to his first love -- trees -- and has become highly respected as a pre-eminent "tree doctor" in New York state and beyond.

"I decided to focus on trees and shrubs, and develop a holistic approach to plant health that incorporates the entire gamut of tree-care methods," he wrote on his company's website. "My life's work has always been to help the trees,'' he says, "just like Dr. Seuss' Lorax."

Jim regularly puts his knowledge to work in his community. On Arbor Day, he visits schools to teach children about trees. He has a special fondness for East Coldenham Elementary School, which he and his children attended. He created a memorial garden on campus and helps the students plant trees in honor of retiring teachers.

Jim is a man of many talents. He played multiple sports in school and was also a race-car driver. He is a talented chef who shares his skills -- and his famous homemade Italian sausage -- with his fellow NYSNLA members at the annual Nurserymen's Foundation picnic.

In nominating Jim for the Hall of Fame, Donna Moramarco, CNLP, another past president and Hall of Famer, wrote, "Jim has worked tirelessly for the State Association -- on its executive board as state president and its other offices, in his region, and for the entire membership for many years. His travels across NYS to attend regional education days, board and strategic planning meetings, and other events to benefit the Association have been an unwavering mainstay of his dedication."

"When I think of Jimmy, I think of character," said Jerry Parmenter, Senior CNLP and fellow past president, who presented him with the Hall of Fame honor. "He does what he says he's going to do, and he always puts his family first. His dedication and professionalism within our association and our green industry as a whole during his career have been profound."


Click here for a list of criteria for this award and directions for submitting a nomination.

Past Inductees

1960 - Dr. A.M.A. Pridham, Charles Perkins, Val Curtis, Edwin Costich

1961 - Louis Weinstock, John W. Kelly, Joseph Roesch, Clarence Vanderbrook, Robert Auld

1962 - Dr. Harold B. Tukey Sr., John Visser, Tobbio Martino

1963 - Eugene S. Boerner

1964 - Frank S. BonGiorno

1965 - Al Synesael

1966 - William F. Kuhl

1967 - Harry Raben

1968 - C. Powers Taylor

1970 - George W. Wren

1971 - Bernard B. Stangler

1972 - Lawrence L. Labriola

1973 - Edward Pettillon

1974 - Herman Eberhard

1975 - Dave Schade

1976 - John Newhouse

1978 - Dr. George Good

1979 - William Bailey

1980 - Edwin M. Fava

1981 - Anna Feile

1982 - Bob Case

1983 - George Schichtel

1984 - George Kallfelz

1985 - Henry Weller

1986 - Alfred H. Krautter, Lifetime CNLP

1987 - Fritz Schaefer, Lifetime CNLP

1988 - Frank Ferraro

1989 - Kenneth Wilk

1990 - Jack Lander

1991 - David Linehan, Senior Lifetime CNLP

1992 - Heinrich Fischer, Lifetime CNLP

1993 - Fred Mitchell

1994 - Jim Shearer

1995 - John Braddell

1996 - George "Skip" Miller

1997 - George Gibbs

1998 - Peter Costich

1999 - Dave McIntyre

2000 - Jan Jansen, Lifetime CNLP

2001 - Kenneth R. Hill, Senior Lifetime CNLP

2002 - Edward Dore, Senior Lifetime CNLP

2003 - Marj Olds

2004 - William "Bill" Head

2005 - David M. Taylor

2006 - Bob Kretzer

2007 - Dale Tuttle, Lifetime CNLP

2008 - Gregory Frank

2009 - David Ryan, Senior CNLP

2010 - Vincent Drzewucki, Senior CNLP

2011 - Robert Smith

2012 - Mike Pollack

2013 - Donna Moramarco, CNLP

2014 - Michael Grimm, Senior Lifetime CNLP

2015 - Jeffrey Rogers, CNLP

2016 - Jackie Crane, CNLP

2017 - Chris Zeisz, Lifetime CNLP